Get your engine started!

York Concours Chrono

On Sunday, 10th May 2015 at 10am
At Schloss Bückeburg (entry free of charge) 

Every year, guests from around the world accept the invitation of Prince York and his partner Frauke Feess to the YORK Concours Chrono and assemble in Bückeburg. This year, 30 teams travelled from the USA, Brazil, France, the Netherlands, Denmark, Lithuania and all over Germany. The two-day society rally is held in three stages with historical automobiles and very rare modern vehicles through the Schaumburg estate. The Concours d’Elégance is held on Sunday morning before the backdrop of the magnificent baroque castle. With the spectators acting as the jury, the most original team is decided upon – not the most valuable car as is usual – the motto for this day is “Dress to match your car”.

Dress to Match your Car

Concours d’Elégance

The highlight of this year is the Mercedes Benz 380 K Special Roadster, which was manufactured especially for the great-uncle of both Prince Alexander and his cousin Prince York in 1933. In 1934, experienced racing driver Prince Maximilian of Schaumburg-Lippe (“Max Sause”) drove the car to victory in the 2,000km German race. For a long time, it was believed that the vehicle had been lost, but in the mid-1960s it was suddenly found in the backyard of a Mercedes Benz dealer in America. Following extensive restoration work, the “Prince Max 380 Special Roadster” was presented to the general public in 1996 at Pebble Beach where it won the Mercedes Trophy. Restored to competitive racing standard, the Mercedes Benz with bodywork created by Erdmann & Rossi for Prince Max and with a 4 litre M221 motor today belongs to the extensive SK Collection owned by collector Saulius Karosas, who will personally present the automobile in Bückeburg.

more informationen

Rallye history to marvel

Mercedes-Benz 380 K Spezial Roadster, 1933
specifically built for Maximilian Prinz zu Schaumburg-Lippe

Rallye history to marvel

Mercedes-Benz 380 K Spezial Roadster, 1933
specifically built for Maximilian Prinz zu Schaumburg-Lippe

Rallye history to marvel

Mercedes-Benz 380 K Spezial Roadster, 1933
specifically built for Maximilian Prinz zu Schaumburg-Lippe

The Rallye-Watch

York Concours Chrono 2015

This year, the overall winner of the YORK Concours Chrono 2015 will again receive a rally chronograph from the “Max Sause” collection, personally designed by Prince York. The steel special edition for 2015 takes inspiration from the colour scheme of the Mercedes Benz 380 Special Roadster, with a black watch face and red second hand. The watches numbering 1 to 30 are optionally provisionally reserved for the rally teams and have a hand-crafted watch strap made using the grey seat leather of a vintage Mercedes 300 SL roadster. Popular amongst collectors, these watches are strictly limited and – as is standard practice for YORK – only available upon request through the personalised concierge service and from selected partners. In total the “Max Sause – Concours Chrono 2015” chronograph will only be produced 464 times.

more information

YORK Concours Chrono 2015

We start this year in partnership with the KAC (Imperial Automobile Club) and the AvD (Automobile Club of Germany).

Get your engine started!

York Concours Chrono 2015

am Sonntag, den 10. Mai 2015 um 10 Uhr
auf Schloss Bückeburg (Eintritt frei)

Alljährlich folgen Gäste aus aller Welt der Einladung von Prinz York und seiner Partnerin Frauke Feess zum YORK Concours Chrono und kommen nach Bückeburg. In diesem Jahr reisen die 30 Teams aus den USA, Brasilien, Frankreich, Niederlande, Dänemark, Litauen und ganz Deutschland an. Die zweitägige Gesellschaftsrallye wird in drei Etappen mit historischen Automobilen und seltenen modernen Fahrzeugen durch das Schaumburger Land gefahren. Der Concours d’Elégance findet am Sonntag Morgen vor der Kulisse des Barock-Schlosses statt. Unter Einbindung der Zuschauer als Jury wird das originellste Team – nicht wie üblich das wertvollste Auto - gewählt, denn das Motto an diesem Tag lautet „Dress to Match your Car“. 

Dress to Match your Car

Concours d’Elégance

Höhepunkt in diesem Jahr ist der eigens für den gemeinsamen Großonkel von Fürst Alexander und seinem Vetter Prinz York im Jahre 1933 angefertigte Mercedes Benz 380 K Spezial Roadster. In diesem Fahrzeug siegte der erfahrene Rennfahrer Maximilian Prinz zu Schaumburg-Lippe („Max Sause“) bei der 2.000 km Deutschland-Fahrt 1934. Das Fahrzeug galt lange Zeit als verschollen und tauchte erst Mitte der 60er Jahren im Hinterhof eines Mercedes-Benz-Händlers in den USA wieder auf. Nach aufwendigen Restaurierungsarbeiten wurde der „Prinz-Max-380-Spezial Roadster“ im Jahr 1996 in Pebble Beach der Öffentlichkeit vorgestellt und gewann die „Mercedes Trophy“. Der rennsporttaugliche, von Erdmann & Rossi für Prinz Max karossierte Mercedes-Benz mit dem 4 Liter-Motor vom Typ M221 ist heute Bestandteil der umfangreichen SK Collection des Sammlers Saulius Karosas, der das Fahrzeug persönlich in Bückeburg präsentieren wird.

mehr Informationen als PDF

Rallye Geschichte zum Bestaunen

Mercedes-Benz 380 K Spezial Roadster von 1933
Einzelanfertigung für Maximilian Prinz zu Schaumburg-Lippe

Rallye Geschichte zum Bestaunen

Mercedes-Benz 380 K Spezial Roadster von 1933
Einzelanfertigung für Maximilian Prinz zu Schaumburg-Lippe

Rallye Geschichte zum Bestaunen

Mercedes-Benz 380 K Spezial Roadster von 1933
Einzelanfertigung für Maximilian Prinz zu Schaumburg-Lippe

Die Uhr zur Rallye

York Concours Chrono 2015

Der Gesamtsieger des YORK Concours Chrono 2015 erhält auch in diesem Jahr wieder einen eigens von Prinz York entworfenen Rallye Chronographen aus der Serie „Max Sause“. Die Sonderedition aus Stahl lehnt sich 2015 an die Farbgebung des 380-Spezial Roadsters mit einem schwarzen Zifferblatt und rotem Sekundenzeiger an. Die Uhren mit der Nummerierung 1 bis 30 sind für die Rallye-Teams optional vorreserviert und tragen ein handgefertigtes Armband aus dem grauen Sitzleder eines alten Mercedes 300 SL Roadster. Die bei Sammlern beliebten Uhren sind limitiert und – wie bei YORK üblich – nur auf Anfrage über den persönlichen Concierge-Service und ausgewählte Partner erhältlich. Insgesamt wird der Chronograph „Max Sause - Concours Chrono 2015“ nur 464 Mal gefertigt.

mehr Informationen

YORK Concours Chrono 2015

Wir starten dieses Jahr in Partnerschaft mit dem KAC (Kaiserlicher Automobilclub) und dem AvD (Automobilclub von Deutschland).